AMES, Iowa – Iowa State University will have to begin the search for a new president.

Monday morning the Auburn University Board of Trustees voted to make Dr. Steven Leath its new president. He becomes the university’s 19th president.

Leath began his time as Iowa State’s president in 2012, replacing Gregory Geoffroy.