The drama really began to simmer when Gibson was assessed an additional one-shot penalty after his caddie, Brandon Davis, retrieved the ball in the hazard before any drop had commenced. That’s because an official ruled that the looper breached Rule 18-2 by picking up a ball while it was still in play.
Gibson was understandably quite upset about the extra infraction, and after chipping to tap-in range for bogey, he harshly let Davis know what he thought about the development:
Wow, even I treated my caddies with more respect than this guy. pic.twitter.com/gFeTiRGM3b— Shooter McGavin (@ShooterMcGavin_) January 24, 2018
Here's exactly what happened...Ball was dead underneath two rocks and I told you about it and you said "fuck" and turned around stopped looking and walked back to the bag. The tour official actually found the unhittable ball. I then went over and quickly retrieved it.— Brandon Davis (@bdavistwo) January 25, 2018
100% fact. https://t.co/W8dQHmAkeK