Iowa Names 2020 Football Leadership Group

Iowa Names 2020 Football Leadership Group

IOWA CITY, Iowa --The University of Iowa football program has named 21 players to the 2020 Leadership Group, it was announced Friday by head coach Kirk Ferentz.

The group includes nine seniors, three juniors, six sophomores, and three redshirt freshmen. The purpose of the group is to assist in formulating policies and being involved in team decision-making throughout the year. Players were selected following coaching staff and player input.

“This group was assembled beginning with our Hawkeye Championship Captains who have shown great initiative and leadership since the start of 2020, as have all of our players,” said Ferentz. “The initial Leadership Group was voted on one month ago. 

“Due to discussions and dialogue with our players, and in particular the Hawkeye Championship Captains, we felt it best to reset the model and elect new leadership to assist in formulating team policies and involvement in team decision-making throughout the year. We wanted to empower our current student-athletes to provide feedback for those who would work to be productive toward the goals of the group. That list closely matched what we put together as a staff.”

The group consists of seniors Cole Banwart, Keith Duncan, Chauncey Golston, Matt Hankins, Alaric Jackson, Nick Niemann, Mekhi Sargent, Austin Schulte and Brandon Smith; juniors Djimon Colbert, Ivory Kelly-Martin and Jack Koerner; sophomores Dane Belton, Seth Benson, Julius Brents, Tyler Linderbaum, Spencer Petras, and Tyrone Tracy, Jr.; and redshirt freshmen Jermari Harris, Desmond Hutson, and Alex Padilla.

The 2020 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Cole Banwart                          OL                  Senior                         Ottosen, Iowa

Dane Belton                            DB                  Sophomore                 Tampa, Fla.

Seth Benson                            LB                  Sophomore                 Sioux Falls, S.D.

Julius Brents                           DB                  Sophomore                 Indianapolis, Ind.

Djimon Colbert                       LB                  Junior                         Shawnee Mission, Kan.

Keith Duncan                          K                    Senior                         Weddington, N.C.

Chauncey Golston                   DL                  Senior                         Detroit, Michigan

Matt Hankins                          DB                  Senior                         Lewisville, Texas

Jermari Harris                         DB                  Redshirt Freshman       Chicago, Ill.

Desmond Hutson                     WR                 Redshirt Freshman       Raytown, Mo.

Alaric Jackson                         OL                  Senior                         Detroit, Michigan

Ivory Kelly-Martin                  RB                  Junior                         Plainfield, Ill.

Jack Koerner                           DB                  Junior                         Des Moines, Iowa

Tyler Linderbaum                    OL                  Sophomore                 Solon, Iowa

Nick Niemann                         LB                  Senior                         Sycamore, Illinois

Alex Padilla                            QB                  Redshirt Freshman       Greenwood Village, Co.

Spencer Petras                         QB                  Sophomore                 San Rafael, California

Mekhi Sargent                         RB                  Senior                         Key West, Florida

Austin Schulte                         DL                  Senior                         Pella, Iowa

Brandon Smith                        WR                 Senior                         Lake Cormorant, Mississippi

Tyrone Tracy, Jr.                     WR                 Sophomore                 Camby, Ind.

Win $50 in Fireworks at Iowa Fireworks Farm - Thumbnail Image

Win $50 in Fireworks at Iowa Fireworks Farm

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content